Directors' Debuts Competition

Directors' Debuts Competition was initiated in 2010 due to the Festival's increasing openness to the noteworthy artists and the new film phenomena they create. The idea of creating additional competition section was a natural consequence of our previous activities. For years we have been promoting innovative projects that combine intellectual freedom, remarkable insight into world affairs and a desire to inspire other artists of the screen. Directors' Debuts Competition brings new discoveries: great movies of high artistic value and great filmmakers whose new ventures surprise not only the Jury members but all audiences around the world as well.

The selection committee nominates first or second non-documentary feature films made by young directors and cinematographers. The Jury consisting of renowned directors, DPs, producers and other filmmakers will choose the winners at the festival.

Directors' Debuts Competition is organized under the patronage of Polish Filmmakers Association.



Something Must Break
director: Ester Martin Bergsmark
cinematographer: Lisabi Fridell, Minka Jakerson
country: Sweden
year: 2014
Hardkor Disko
director: Krzysztof Skonieczny
cinematographer: Kacper Fertacz
country: Poland
year: 2013
Inbetween Worlds
director: Feo Aladag
cinematographer: Judith Kaufmann
country: Germany
year: 2014
Fishing Without Nets
director: Cutter Hodierne
cinematographer: Alex Disenhof
country: Kenya, USA, Somalia
year: 2014
director: Maya Vitkova
cinematographer: Krum Rodriguez
country: Romania, Bulgaria
year: 2014
director: Damien Chazelle
cinematographer: Sharone Meir
country: USA
year: 2014
Of Horses and Men
director: Benedikt Erlingsson
cinematographer: Bergsteinn Björgúlfsson
country: Iceland, Norway, Germany
year: 2013
director: Bas Devos
cinematographer: Nicolas Karakatsanis
country: Belgium, Netherlands
year: 2014
Disciple, The
director: Ulrika Bengts
cinematographer: Robert Nordström
country: Finland
year: 2013
director: Naji Abu Nowar
cinematographer: Wolfgang Thaler
country: Jordan, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Qatar, UK
year: 2014